Municipality of Franklin
© MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent
The landscape of Franklin is characterized by an
abundance of orchards and maple groves, as well as a network of stone fences
along Route 202, which runs through the region. Designated as a rural centre,
the municipality of Franklin includes the Pin-Rigid Ecological Reserve, which
is the largest known pitch pine forest in Quebec, as well as the Franklin Woodland,
a natural habitat for white-tailed deer. The municipal territory, which
does not exceed 100 metres in altitude in the northern sector is served by the
Brandy Brook. The territory rises gradually up to 320 metres in the southern
sector, this is fed by the Outardes East River and the Michel Brook.
The Recreation Centre, two elementary schools, low-income housing, Lac des Pins campground and beach, micro-brewery, numerous orchards and sugar bushes, as well as its architectural heritage including several century old churches are all contributing factors to the charm of this picturesque community.
1670, route 202
Franklin (Québec) J0S 1E0
Phone: 450 827-2538
Fax: 450 827-2640
Mayor: Douglas Brooks
Director General and Secretary-Treasurer: François Gagnon
Councillors: Marc-André Laberge, Sébastien Rémillard, Michel Vaillancourt, Vincent Meloche, Yves Métras, James Mavré
Demonym and geographic code
Both the municipality and the township of Franklin, in the Montérégie, were officially recognized in 1857. It was not until 1973 that the municipality of Franklin, located between Havelock and Hinchinbrooke, obtained its current status as a result of the amalgamation of the Township of Franklin and the municipality of the parish of Saint-Antoine-Abbé-Partie-Nord-Est (1860).
The first inhabitant, Asa Smith, arrived around 1788. Americans, Irish, and English would settle there at the beginning of the 19th century. In 1830, the Franklin Centre School, so named after a post office (1868), was built. The parish of Saint-Antoine-Abbé was officially recognized in 1854 at the religious level and, in 1860, at the secular level.
Franklin owes its name to Sir John Franklin (1786-1847), an English Arctic explorer, who came to Canada in 1825 and 1827, on voyages that saw him explore the mouth of the Mackenzie River in the Northwest Territories. The landscape in Franklin is characterized by an abundance of orchards and maple groves. (Source: Quebec Toponymy Commission)
Dsc09545 Franklin2012 Alacroix