Mail Facebook Instagram LinkedIn Twitter RSS Previous Next Home Search Cross PDF Website

The municipalities

Saint-Anicet Municipality


The mayors of the thirteen municipalities of the Haut-Saint-Laurent region unanimously re-elected Mrs. Louise Lebrun, mayor of Sainte-Barbe, as prefect of the MRC during the regular council meeting on November 24, 2021. Ms. Lebrun is especially pleased to continue as prefect of the MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent, a role she has filled since 2015.

“It is an honour to represent the council of mayors at the MRC, and to continue to support the strategic development of our beautiful region with my colleagues,” says Lebrun. “I would like to thank my colleagues for their confidence once again, while welcoming the collaborative spirit of the regional councillors sitting for the first time around the MRC table,” she adds.

During the meeting, which involved the introduction of five newly elected mayors, the deputy mayors for the next four years were also agreed upon. Giovanni Moretti, the mayor of Saint-Anicet, will serve in this role until July 24, 2022, when Huntingdon mayor André Brunette will assume the position until March 24, 2023. Linda Gagnon, the mayor of Dundee, will then take on the role from March 25 to November 22, 2023.

For the next four years, the Regional Council of the MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent will include:

  • Ms. Linda Gagnon, mayor of Dundee since 2017
  • Ms. Deborah Stewart, mayor of Elgin since 2009
  • Mr. Yves Métras, mayor of Franklin, elected in 2021
  • Mr. Pierre Poirier, mayor of Godmanchester since 1999
  • Mr. Stéphane Gingras, mayor of Havelock, elected in 2021
  • Mr. Mark Wallace, mayor of Hinchinbrooke, elected in 2021
  • Mr. Richard Raithby, mayor of Howick since 2013
  • Mr. André Brunette, mayor of Huntingdon since 2013
  • Ms. Christine McAleer, mayor of Ormstown, elected in 2021
  • Mr. Giovanni Moretti, mayor of Saint-Anicet since 2017
  • Ms. Louise Lebrun, mayor of Sainte-Barbe since 2009
  • Mr. Steve Laberge, mayor of Saint-Chrysostome, elected in 2021
  • Ms. Agnes McKell, mayor of Très-Saint-Sacrement since 2017

The Haut-Saint-Laurent in a few words

The MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent is composed of thirteen municipalities serving 22,220 citizens spread over 1,167 km2, of which 93 per cent is in agricultural zones. The Haut-Saint-Laurent is distinguished by its picturesque rural landscapes, its numerous waterways, and its location in the southwest of the province, along the St. Lawrence River and the state of New York.

For more information, visit

Madame Louise Lebrun Préfète