Mail Facebook Instagram Twitter RSS Previous Next Home Search Cross PDF Website

The municipalities

Heritage

Patrimoine Mrc Haut Saint Laurent

  • The Heritage of the MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent

    As part of recent revisions made to the MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent Cultural Policy, a comprehensive inventory is being developed. This will constitute a directory of all historical or heritage features located within the Haut-Saint-Laurent. 

    As a result, the heritage section of the website will be updated when the inventory has been completed.

  • Pont Percy Cld Haut Saint Laurent

Religious Heritage

The MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent is characterized by a rich religious heritage. A total of 32 places of worship can be found within its territory, and this does not include those which no longer belong to a religious denomination. Of the 32 places of worship, a total of 30 were notably built before 1945.  

In comparison with other rural areas of Quebec, the majority of churches located within the MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent are not Roman Catholic. In fact, 66% of the places of worship in the region are Protestant or Anglican. These places of worship are mainly found at scenic locations that make up a cultural tourism network, which features three tours of Protestant Churches. 

The following directory lists places of worship in the MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent by religious denomination. By clicking on the name of the place of worship, you will be able to access an inventory sheet produced by the Religious Heritage Foundation of Quebec, in collaboration with the Ministry of Culture and Communications.

Anglican

Presbyterian

Independent Church

United Church

Catholic

Official Designations

Quebec Cultural Heritage Registry

Municipality of Huntingdon

Municipalities of Elgin and Hinchinbrooke 

Municipality of Très-Saint-Sacrement

Municipality of Saint-Anicet

Federal Heritage Designations

Municipality of Très-Saint-Sacrement

Municipalités d'Hinchinbrooke 

Municipality of Havelock

Municipalities of Elgin and Hinchinbrooke 

Municipality of Godmanchester

Municipality of Saint-Anicet

Historical Archives

Cataloging project

The cataloging project of the historical society archives of the MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent, namely the Saint-Anicet Historical Society and the Chateauguay Valley Historical Society, was initiated with the backing of the MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent Cultural Committee to support the two cultural organizations in creating an inventory of the documents they possess and in the sharing of knowledge related to the management of such collections. 

The project was undertaken by Hélène Bissonnette and Kelly Ryan, in collaboration with members of the two historical societies and the MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent Cultural Committee, with funding provided by the Conférence Regional de Élus (CRÉ) Vallée-du-Haut-Saint-Laurent. The funding, a total of $20,000, was awarded to the MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent Cultural Committee following a call for projects to foster the development of culture and communications in the region (2007). 

Two documents were created:

Mail Facebook Instagram Twitter RSS Previous Next Home Search Cross PDF Website

Les municipalités

Patrimoine

Église Saint-Malachie

  • Le patrimoine de la MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent

    Dans le cadre de la refonte de la politique culturelle de la MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent, un inventaire exhaustif est en cours d'élaboration. Il constituera une répertoire des éléments patimoniaux présents sur le territoire du Haut-Saint-Laurent.

    Conséquemment, la section Patrimoine du site internet sera mise à jour lors de la complétion dudit inventaire.

  • Pont Percy

Patrimoine religieux

La MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent se caractérise par un riche patrimoine religieux. En effet, 32 lieux de culte se trouvent sur son territoire, sans compter ceux qui n'appartiennent plus à une confession religieuse. De ces 32 lieux de culte, 30 furent construits avant 1945, ce qui qualifie d'ancien ce parc immobilier.

Comparativement à d'autres régions rurales du Québec, la majorité des églises qui se trouvent sur le territoire de la MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent est de confession autre que catholique romaine. En effet, 66 % des lieux de culte de la région sont de confession protestante et anglicane. Ces lieux de culte se retrouvent sur des sites pittoresques qui s'inscrivent dans un circuit touristique culturel, celui des trois circuits d'églises protestantes.

La liste suivante recense les lieux de culte du territoire de la MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent par confession religieuse. Vous pouvez cliquer sur le nom du lieu de culte pour consulter sa fiche d'inventaire, réalisée par la Fondation du patrimoine religieux du Québec, en collaboration avec le ministère de la culture et des communications.

Anglicane

Presbytérienne

Église indépendante

Église unie

Catholique

Désignations officielles

Registre du patrimoine culturel du Québec


Municipalité de Huntingdon


Municipalités d'Elgin et Hinchinbrooke 


Municipalité de Très-Saint-Sacrement


Municipalité de Saint-Anicet


Désignations patrimoniales fédérales


Municipalité de Très-Saint-Sacrement


Municipalités d'Hinchinbrooke 


Municipalité d'Havelock


Municipalités d'Elgin et Hinchinbrooke 


Municipalité de Godmanchester


Municipalité de Saint-Anicet

Archives historiques

Projet de catalogage 

Le projet de catalogage des archives des sociétés historiques du territoire de la MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent, soit la Société historique de Saint-Anicet (SHSA) et la Société historique de la Vallée-de-la Châteauguay (CVHS), est né au sein du Comité culturel de la MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent et visait à soutenir l'oeuvre de deux organismes culturels du territoire dans le recensement des documents qu'ils possèdent et dans le partage de connaissances relatives à  la gestion de collections.  

Le projet a été réalisé par Hélène Bissonnette et Kelly Ryan, en collaboration avec les membres des deux sociétés historiques et le comité culturel de la MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent, grâce au financement de la Conférence Régionale des élus (CRÉ) Vallée-du-Haut-Saint-Laurent. Ce financement, totalisant la somme de 20 000 $, a été obtenu par le Comité culturel de la MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent dans le cadre de l'appel de projets pour favoriser le développement de la culture et des communications sur son territoire (2007).

Deux documents ont donc été créés :